h1

Invasion on the Home Front!

March 27, 2010

 For the most part the home front is calm and quiet. However, every so often a peculiar group roams through our yard leaving carnage and fecal matter in their wake. When I awoke to this strolling rampage I took it upon myself to brave the massive invaders to bring you these stunning images.

Knowing that hesitation would be counterproductive I carefully made my way into the herd of beefy behemoths.

I tried my best to approach these great beasts of the home land without raising their ire.

However, I was found out. The younger beasts of the herd took notice of me almost immediately and began their cautious approach.

Interacting with the cows is a lot like fishing in that you have to stand real still and act as bait. It is not uncommon for them to come right up to me and even lick me with their strangely soft tongues. This is especially true for the younger cows. So it didn’t take long for me to be surrounded with curious on lookers.

With larger cows like this one they will typically either ignore me, run away from me, or charge at me. The last one only happens if our lovely dog starts chasing the little calves. So I just casually strolled up to this large cow and gave it a little pat on the head. Then took some pictures for your enjoyment.

Imagine my surprise when I turned around and saw that I was being followed! Fearing that they might be on to me, and wanting to know if beef was what’s for dinner, I made haste in making my escape.

One comment

  1. Very nice pictures, cows are funny creatures. Had a scary experience with cows once, walked through a field of cows at night which I tell you is very inadvisable for cows can stampede(towards you).



Leave a Reply

